The South Asian Games (SAF Games) formerly known as South Asian Federation Games) is a biennial multi-sport event held among the athletes from South Asia. The governing body of these games is South Asia Olympic Council (SAOC), formed in 1983.

At present in SAG there are seven members (Countries) : Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. SAG 2019 has hosted by Nepal and games played in Kathmandu and Pokhara in December 1 -December 10, 2019.

The first South Asian Games were hosted by Kathmandu, Nepal in 1984. From 1984 to 1987 they were held every year except 1986, as it was a year of Commonwealth Games and Asian Games. From 1987 onwards, they have been held every two years except for some occasions. In 2004, it was decided in the 32nd meeting of South Asian Sports Council to rename the games from South Asian Federation Games to South Asian Games as the officials believed the word Federation was diminishing the emphasis on event and acting as a barrier in attracting crowd.

Nepal’s best ever performance in 13th SAG

The 10 Days long (December 1-10) South Asian Games have come to an end. The 13th edition of the south Asian Games remained special for Nepal achieving the second highest number of gold medals after India.

Nepal secured 51 gold, 60 silver and 95 bronze 206 in total.

India has won the highest, 310, number of medals including 174 gold, 93 silver and 45 Bronze.

Similarly, Srilanka has received a total of 40 gold, 83 silver and 128 bronze.

Likewise, Pakistan is with the 31 gold, 41 silver and 59 bronze.

Ranking the fifth position in the medal tally, Bangladesh has a total of 19 gold, 32 silver, and 87 bronze

Maldives scored 1 gold and 4 bronze only. And Bhutan is confined in 7 silver and 13 bronze.

South Asian Games Medal Tally

South Asian Games Medal Tally
South Asian Games Medal Tally

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!